Home Shows, or is your TV broken?

 

People pay to go to these things!!!!

Image

Maybe they like the idea that they cant buy anything, but they can see everything they might want.
Even and especially things they have never thought of needing. Yes, you can buy the crap they generally sell only on TV
Of course the price is higher here, because some poor soul does a song and dance to make you buy it right now!

Image

You have to have a gimmick, a give away, a pitch, a pretty girl, something to make folks stop.
I am yet to know why I am supposed to want them to stop.I have never made a sale from a trade show.
That’s not really the worst of it. After spending hours trapped in a little false fronted booth
with samples and literature and free pens or candy and hearing sob stories and complaints about
the world in general that would make a veteran bartender want to quit,
I occasionally get someone who wants me to come out to their house. So far, after a year of doing this
I have not had one tradeshow contact keep their appointment….

Image

Really, I dont mind, most trade show attendees seem to need a few more years of schooling to become thew “people of Walmart”
Five hours out of the middle of a Saturday.This is the prime of the week in the prime of my last chance at fatherhood.
If I didnt love the company I work forI would be bitter. As it is, I try to be amused.

If I wanted, I could slip away in a few minutes and catch the free seminar held by one of the Real Housewives of New Jersey!!!!
I have to admit, I would recognize her when I saw her. I might not remember her name. I know I would hate her.
I have watched several seasons over the top of my laptop. My wife is addicted.

I am racking my brain, trying to imagine what any of them could offer as information in a seminar, but then I
remember, not only did Paul Ryan and Sarah Palin get on a national presidential ticket,
there are still people who think they should have been at the top of the ticket!

I guess, if your TV is broken, and you can catch tacky infomercials and see a REAL Real Housewife,
and you are tired of mall waking, you can pay $5 to park, whatever admission is, and walk on the hard concrete floor for hours.

Image

In fairness, I just met a couple who have a daughter in Harvard, he gave me some tips on getting my very smart white male son in.
“Sports,” he said. Lotta help that is my son would rather go to Walmart than play a sport… Yeah, its my day to pick on Walmart.

I mentioned that he played violin. He said that might help. He also suggested that I pull in every political favor I might.
So Celeste Bush, Donna Hart, Kathryn Hensley, Kimberly Mitchell, AW, Bill Bone, Chris Craft, Joe Smith, Joe Anthony, and everybody else I know
that ever thought about being politically active, in about 5 yrs, I will be coming for you.

It would be ironic if this guy from a trade show helped get my kid into Harvard…

I wonder if his TV was broken? Or does he even have a TV? Harvard and all…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

