A Complete Stranger Asks for Help

writer

First published on LinkedIn May 10, 2016

First off I want to say excellent blog!

Thanks!

I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
I was interested to find out how you center yourself and
clear your head before writing.

I don’t, writing is very organic to me. I am in writing mode almost all the time I am awake, and even when I am asleep. If I could get paid to write, I would do little else.

I’ve had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

I don’t know, its a little like someone who can play an instrument or sing trying to teach me how to do either. I am a failure at both. But since I was 5 I have been writing. It is pretty much a reflex. But I would say to think about what you want to say, think about how you would like to hear about it if someone else was going to tell you the story, then write in whatever way fits you.

Lay out a neat outline and then fill in the pieces (this never works for me). Think of key phrases and build on them (this sometimes works for me). Just start rambling and clean it up later.

Sometimes I will find I am writing about 3-4 things at once. After I get a bit of it down, I have to untangle the bits and write out what I want to say about each. This is more usual for me.

I truly do take pleasure in writing

Think about why you write. Do you write for the sheer pleasure of words on paper? Because you feel the urge to communicate a point you think you understand better than some others? Whatever it is, it might help to know. I don’t always know anything more than, “hey, I want to write a bit about this!” Often my blogs or stories or poems or essays start out as a response to someone elses post and I realize I am not going to say everything I want to say in a few words.

but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be
wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.

If you think about it, no time is really wasted. What else would you be doing? If you can get your mind in a place, then you ARE doing something. I find writing a bit like sex. If you aren’t in the mood, it is probably better to wait until you are.

I have no idea who you are or what your writing experience and goals are. Everyone is different. So my advice may be completely worthless. But even if it is, I just gave you a pretty good example of how I write.

Leave a Reply

